Muschamp Rd is not me

March 27th, 2007

While looking at referrals in Mint or one of the Google or Technorati Alerts I created, I discovered that someone registered, someone other than me. At first I thought it was just an opportunistic cybersquatter because I couldn’t really see the use of the domain to anyone other than me. I didn’t do anything, but then I mentioned it in passing during a comment and it seems to upset other bloggers more than me.

So I took another look at what was being built at the URL and it is now a WordPress blog about marketing. I’m not sure what “musk” has to do with marketing. If Musk was synonymous with marketing I wouldn’t be unemployed.

Screen shot of imposter blog

I’m not the type with a lawyer on speed dial, if I was I would have called one back in March 2005. I generally don’t go complaining to higher authorities when things aren’t going the way I would like. I try to suck it up and push on. I’ve bitten my tongue so often it is amazing I haven’t swallowed it. Now I have a lot less tolerance for bullshit. I don’t know why people, friends, classmates, anonymous internet users choose to treat me poorly, to take advantage of my good nature, of my kindness…

But they do.

Related Posts


  • Muskie says:

    You mean the theme, I think it is the default WordPress theme, lots of blogs have that theme. It would definitely be illegal if he took the content or the design of my site, even taking the name is something that the courts have historically sided with the originator unless there is prior art or differing industries…

    I’m not too worried about this guy, something like 80% of blogs are pure spam, even Google will admit this. If this guy thinks “Muskblog” is a valuable keyword, he obviously hasn’t read all 400 or so postings I’ve made.

    And if he thinks some spamblog will outrank me in the search engines for my own name, he’s downright delusional. I seriously should look at the WhoIs info and find out who I’m dealing with…

    Domain Name: MUSKBLOG.COM
    Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
    Whois Server:
    Referral URL:
    Name Server: NS1.NETFIRMS.COM
    Name Server: NS2.NETFIRMS.COM
    Updated Date: 06-oct-2006
    Creation Date: 04-oct-2006
    Expiration Date: 04-oct-2008

    It goes on to say the registrant is “Perfect Venture SB”. They don’t exactly show up in Google.


  • And that header looks like my blog’s. I’d say we go and cut off his nuts for plagiarism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Posts on Muskblog © Andrew "Muskie" McKay.
CFA Institute does not endorse, promote or warrant the accuracy or quality of Muskblog. CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are registered trademarks owned by CFA Institute.